July 7, 2012

  • In Recent News…

     

    *sigh*

     

     

    Hey everyone. It’s good to be back. I apologize for the unannounced (and unwanted) hiatus, but the college life proved demanding.

    But it’s summer, so I have a bit more free time.

    Which is good, because with summer came…other things. Not so great things.

    See, there’s this thing I do in the summer-a 2 week training at which we take classes on how to teach Vacation Bible School, as well as general stuff about working with kids. This was my fourth year there, and I was asked to be assistant dean of men. Then the kitchen needed help, so I ended up as dean of men. (Actually, my title changed 4 times! Long, stressful story) And another one of the staff was made my assistant. Problem: this was only his second year there. And he’s a douchebag. I would’ve been a million times better off without him. It was bad…

    Anywho, when I get there, I’m given the list of the students coming, and I saw a name that literally filled me with dread. This name was one I was too familiar with; one I myself has written many times. It was the name of the girl I had fallen in love with for 2 and 1/2 years, who I hadn’t seen for 2 years. Never have I felt so strongly for anyone else. (Actually, the feelings I had inspired many posts, i.e. The Sound of Silence, Dear ______, The Sound of…, To Be A Cloud, and Sleepless Night.) And seeing that name scared me. I was afraid the feelings I had fought so hard to bury might come back; the scars might reopen. Even though I had promised a girl back at college I wouldn’t look at any other girl while I was gone, I hadn’t been prepared for this. I had already planned on never seing this person again. And now, I had to spend two weeks with her!

    Luckily, my duties kept me busy, and although it was awkward, never did an ounce of what I had felt for her return.

    But this post isn’t all roses and happiness. The other night, I was texting the girl from college (spoken of in these posts: What Luck, Saving Seats, and Page 88.), and she informed me that she thought it’d be best if we remain friends. She hopes to be finished by the end of next semester, and will be moving back to Texas afterwards, while I have 3 more years of college left. I told her if that’s what she believed was best, then that’s what we ought to do. I told her it has been amazing getting to know her better, and we decided we’d continue to talk as friends. I’m not gonna lie, I’m pretty bummed.bummed I really like this girl. But I’ll get over it. Life goes on. And hopefully my return to Xanga will help life go a bit easier.

    Anyway, have a good day! More blogs coming soon: I have catching up to do!

     

     

     

Comments (5)

  • Sometimes we build a boundary because we are afraid of the separation later.  Perhaps it is a good sign she was really liking you too.  I wouldn’t let that discourage you.

  • Awww, such a bummer about that girl just wanting to be friends  

    And a two-week course for VBS training? I’m co-director at my church’s VBS, and in the last week before it started I was thrown into teaching the Pre-K/K class :P No training needed – just a tolerance for tiny kids! haha. I was flipping through the VBS director’s manual and holy crud, they expect A LOT! Since my programme only has 15 kids on a good day (we’re doing it the 5 Sundays in July, oddly) we aren’t doing a five-star production haha.

  • P.S> – I’m happy you popped into Xanga! Now visit more often!!!!!

  • Welcome back to the fold sir! Congrats on your VBS status upgrade.

  • im sorry aaron that stuff has happed to me too so i know how you feel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *