February 18, 2014

  • A Recent History of the Tigah

    I guess the best way to do this is chronologically. So, here goes.

    As most of you may have noticed, I started making a slight comeback during the summer. Promises were made to get back into the Xanga scene, and I had every intention of doing so. Then, the fall semester started. At the time, I was attending a Baptist college. Their computers had a tracking system that saw everywhere you went, and if you went anywhere bad, red flags would go up, and emails would be sent. Well, I guess the administration could see everywhere you go, and how long you were there, and apparently students were spending hours on Facebook and other social media sites, but failing their classes. So, when the new semester started, they installed a blocker instead of a tracker, which blocked all social media, including Xanga. Since I had no laptop, I had no way of getting on. So that explains my last sudden disappearance.

    Speaking of that semester, it was terrible. During those months, I was the most unhappy I had ever been. I had a full credit load, two jobs, and extra circular responsibilities that somehow ended up in my lap. Meanwhile, rules of the college, and the way things were being handled, were getting ridiculous. I’m not going to get caught up in all of that, but by Thanksgiving break, I had a huge list of reasons as to why I shouldn’t attend that college anymore. One of the main reasons being I no longer believed that that is the way that God intended for a preacher to be trained. The Bible gives numerous examples of future preachers being mentored by one man of God, not 8 like at the college. And so, once the semester ended, I knew I needed to leave. But first, I had to give my two jobs a two week notice.

    Then I wrecked my car. Lost control on an icy road and totaled it. So my parents had to come get me, and it only made since to get all of my stuff then, so I ended up leaving several weeks before I planned.

    After I had been home for about a week, our pastor (who has been the pastor for about two years) says he would like for me to pray about taking over for my dad as youth leader (my dad has been the youth leader and the assistant pastor for over 30 years). After a bit of prayer, it was obvious that this is what God had in store for me.

    So, here I am. Youth leader at the church I grew up in. And now, I need a private outlet more than ever. Also, I missed you guys a lot. It saddens me that a lot of Xangans have left during my absence. But I look forward to getting back into things with those of you still around!

    ~Aaron “Tigah”

Comments (7)

  • Oh gosh, you’re a church youth leader!!!!! :D Congratulations! Are you still thinking of seminary to become a pastor? Well, no worries. You still have time to think about all that and whatnot. But I’m still so happy and excited for you :)

    Isn’t it strange how God sets things in our life? Like, all the things that led you to this job. God certainly is amazing!

    Yikes, sorry to hear about your car accident. And it’s so unfortunate that your college was stressful and strict in all those ways. I had a friend who attended a Nazarene college in NW Ohio and I remember her telling me all the can-and-cannot-do’s of the college. I mean, I’m alright with some moral rulings and I probably would have been alright at her college, but when stuff like social media are more or less banned and other things, then it’s like “okay, I’m done”.

    Anyway. I hope we can see more of you around here! You’ve most certainly been missed!

    Glad you’re here :)

  • Welcome back! sorry about the schooling and car totaling but congratulations on the youth position….the world needs all the good youth leaders we can get!

  • I don’t remember if I knew you before, but I enjoyed reading this post. We live near Grace College (a Grace Brethren college and seminary. They used to be like that Baptist school, but they’re much more “full of grace” now, like their name. Sorry about your car. I assume you weren’t hurt? Youth leader…that is a job I wouldn’t want, but I’m glad some people do.

  • Now that there are so few xangans around I’m seeing all the new posts! I do believe that everything happens for a reason and we are really lucky when we can discern what that reason might be. Youth leader is an important ministry – sounds like your Pastor has great confidence in you!! Hope to see more of you!

  • Sometimes it is tough to make a decision with regards to education… but, as always, doors and pathways open, and you take a new road.
    I am glad you have come back to Xanga. The more people return, the happier I become.

  • Hey! You probably don’t remember me…But, it’s nice to hear about how you are doing!
    Welcome back!
    I pray all goes well for you in your job/ministry as a youth leader! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Great! good to see you around. Email me if you’re bored, looking fwd to posts!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *