Month: February 2012

  • Paper Cuts

     

     

    So I know it’s a little late, but this is my Valentine’s post. (By the way, I had an amazing night on Valentine’s Eve. I took an amazing and beautiful girl to a banquet hosted by the college, then we went mini-golfing and had loads of fun. laughing)

    This poem could’ve gone a few different ways, like the melancholy way most of my poems go. But I decided Valentine’s has enough depression surrounding it, so I’d change things up a bit. I like the way it turned out, and hope you do, too. So without further adieu, here is…Paper Cuts.

    Paper Cuts

    My hand is now bleeding

    From a fresh paper cut

    As I try to write;

    But I’m stuck in a rut

    See, I can’t think straight

    Whenever you’re around.

    I can’t say anything right;

    Nothing witty, or profound.

    So I thought I might

    Write a letter to you

    Saying all the things

    I don’t, but always mean to.

    So don’t mind the blood

    That’s turned into a stain

    For the feelings that I have for you

    Outweigh this small pain.

     

    My head is now bleeding

    From a gaping hole

    That a flying bullet left

    As it passed through three seconds ago.

    But don’t worry about me;

    I will be alright

    Since the men who tried to hurt you

    Have fled into the night.

    As long as you are safe:

    That’s all that matters to me.

    And if that means my death,

    Then my death means victory.

    So don’t mind my blood

    As it grown into a stain

    For my love for you

    Far outweighs the pain.

     

    My heart is still bleeding

    From a gaping hole

    That you, my love, have left

    When you passed on three days ago.

    You were my guiding star

    When I lived in life’s night.

    When all was once wrong,

    You came and made it right.

    In darkness throughout the years

    A light, you’d always shine.

    Though I did once save your life,

    It was you who truly saved mine.

    So even though your heart

    May never beat again.

    I know I’ll see you soon,

    And that helps me ignore this pain.

     

     

  • Snow!

     

    Snow.

    It’s everywhere. Literally, everywhere. I’m used to it; I’ve lived in Michigan all my life. But Northern Michigan seems to have like pi times as much snow! It’s crazy.

    Don’t get me wrong, I like snow. It’s fun, poetic, and can be used to bury the car of someone you don’t care for (laughing). It might have to do with the fact that I love the cold. I’d rather have it be 20 degrees than 120 anyday. Maybe because heat induces migraines, but cold doesn’t (at least for me). The downside is that swimming in the winter isn’t as fun as swimming in the summer. But indoor pools kinda solve that problem. Anywho, as one friend put it, I am cool with the cold. cool

    Also, with snow, comes sledding.Sledding is always loads of fun, and someone almost always gets hurt. I remember one of the first times I went sledding, I only went down the hill one time, then got ran over twice trying to come up the hill. Not fun. But usually sledding is fun.

    And skiing! I love skiing! It was the subject of my first break-out post (here), and I make sure to go every year. So much fun, and great stories! A moment of silence for those who didn’t make it down the hill…

     

     

     

    But one of the worst things about snow is…

    Snowball fights.

    I can’t stand them! For one, I’m the biggest target, so I’m usually the one in the cross-hairs. And my snowballs never seem to find their mark, it’s not that I have bad aim cuz I’m pretty good at dodge ball. It’s something about the snow…it doesn’t like me. And then, for the rest of the day, I have to walk around wet. I HATE wet clothes. So I decided from now on, if I am assaulted by said puffs of frozen water, I shall react with physical force…