Month: February 2014

  • A Recent History of the Tigah

    I guess the best way to do this is chronologically. So, here goes.

    As most of you may have noticed, I started making a slight comeback during the summer. Promises were made to get back into the Xanga scene, and I had every intention of doing so. Then, the fall semester started. At the time, I was attending a Baptist college. Their computers had a tracking system that saw everywhere you went, and if you went anywhere bad, red flags would go up, and emails would be sent. Well, I guess the administration could see everywhere you go, and how long you were there, and apparently students were spending hours on Facebook and other social media sites, but failing their classes. So, when the new semester started, they installed a blocker instead of a tracker, which blocked all social media, including Xanga. Since I had no laptop, I had no way of getting on. So that explains my last sudden disappearance.

    Speaking of that semester, it was terrible. During those months, I was the most unhappy I had ever been. I had a full credit load, two jobs, and extra circular responsibilities that somehow ended up in my lap. Meanwhile, rules of the college, and the way things were being handled, were getting ridiculous. I’m not going to get caught up in all of that, but by Thanksgiving break, I had a huge list of reasons as to why I shouldn’t attend that college anymore. One of the main reasons being I no longer believed that that is the way that God intended for a preacher to be trained. The Bible gives numerous examples of future preachers being mentored by one man of God, not 8 like at the college. And so, once the semester ended, I knew I needed to leave. But first, I had to give my two jobs a two week notice.

    Then I wrecked my car. Lost control on an icy road and totaled it. So my parents had to come get me, and it only made since to get all of my stuff then, so I ended up leaving several weeks before I planned.

    After I had been home for about a week, our pastor (who has been the pastor for about two years) says he would like for me to pray about taking over for my dad as youth leader (my dad has been the youth leader and the assistant pastor for over 30 years). After a bit of prayer, it was obvious that this is what God had in store for me.

    So, here I am. Youth leader at the church I grew up in. And now, I need a private outlet more than ever. Also, I missed you guys a lot. It saddens me that a lot of Xangans have left during my absence. But I look forward to getting back into things with those of you still around!

    ~Aaron “Tigah”

  • Uh…hey?

    So…how`s it going?